Generic filters

Lully J.B. – Le Bourgeois gentilhomme Suite

Le Bourgeois gentilhomme, suite from the Jean-Baptiste Lully’s comédie-ballet.

This arrangement is for 2 oboes, percussion, and string orchestra.



Le Bourgeois gentilhomme (The Bourgeois Gentleman or The Middle-Class Aristocrat or The Would-Be Noble) is a five-act comédie-ballet — a play intermingled with music, dance, and singing — written by Molière, first presented on 14 October 1670 before the court of Louis XIV at the Château of Chambord by Molière's troupe of actors. The music was composed by Jean-Baptiste Lully, the choreography was by Pierre Beauchamp, the sets were by Carlo Vigarani and the costumes were done by the chevalier d’Arvieux.

Le Bourgeois gentilhomme satirizes attempts at social climbing and the bourgeois personality, poking fun both at the vulgar, pretentious middle-class and the vain, snobbish aristocracy. The title is meant as an oxymoron: in Molière's France, a "gentleman" was by definition nobly born, and thus there could be no such thing as a bourgeois gentleman. The play is in prose (except for the ballet openings which are in verse).

This instrumental version includes the following parts:

  • Ouverture
  • Deuxième air
  • Canarie
  • Marche pour la ceremonie de Turcs
  • Premiere air des Espagnols
  • Deuxieme air des Espagnols
  • L'entrée de Scaramouches, Trivelins et Arlequin
  • Chaconne


This arrangement is for 2 oboes, 1 percussion (timpani/tambourine) and strings.
Bowings are included in both score and parts.


Oboes, String orchestra, Tambourine, Timpano


~20 min.


– 1 full score
– 1 set of parts

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This